

# **CORPORATION OF HARPERS FERRY Planning Commission MINUTES**

**Regular Meeting** Tuesday, 18 January 2022

7:00 p.m.

Town Hall – 1000 Washington, Street, Harpers Ferry, West Virginia 25425 - VIA ZOOM WEBINAR

Called to order at 7:00 p.m. by President Wisecarver. The meeting was conducted via Zoom and livestreamed for the public on YouTube, in compliance with the State's emergency guidance on the Open Governmental Meetings Act.

## THOSE PRESENT VIA ZOOM:

Member	Title	Status
Tim Wisecarver	President	Present
Jim Jenkins	Member/Town Council Liaison/ Tree Committee Liaison	Present
Roberta Meade-Curry, AICP	Secretary	Present
Ken Dill	Member //	Present
Paul Mayhew	Member/Mayor's Designee	Present
Paul Thomas	Member	Present
Chris Craig	Member	Present
Staff		
Deb Kelly	Meeting Facilitator	Present

## No Public Comments or Requests were received for this meeting.

New Members were introduced — Paul Thomas and Chris Craig

## **Approval of Agenda:**

Motion:	Motion to amend agenda, based upon the corrected agenda posted different then what is reflected this evening, under item number 3 it is important to add "This item may require Executive Session to discuss nominees." under the elections portion of the meeting.
Motion by:	R. Meade-Curry
Seconded by:	K. Dill
YES	1
NO	6
Abstain	n/a
Result	MOTION FAILS

Motion:	Motion to approve agenda as stated.
Motion by:	J. Jenkins
Seconded by:	C. Craig
YES	7
NO	0
Abstain	n/a
Result	MOTION PASSES - UNANIMOUSLY

### **President's Announcements:**

- 1. President Wisecarver thanked and recognized Mr. George Owens for his three years of service, and Mr. Robert Nelson who served on Tree Committee. Mr. Wisecarver thanked them for volunteering.
- 2. President Wisecarver especially thanked Peter Dessauer, Annette Hale, Nancy Case, and Christian Pechuekonis who were very helpful members of the Planning Commission.

## **Approval of Minutes:**

President Wisecarver prepared and presented revised draft of Regular Meeting Minutes of 21 September 2021.

Motion:	Motion to approve the minutes of the Regular Meeting of 21 September 2021.
Motion by:	J. Jenkins
Seconded by:	P. Mayhew
YES	
NO	
Abstain	n/a
Result	MOTION WAS AMENDED

Motion:	Move to amend the meeting minutes presented by President Wisecarver to reflect the corrections and missing information as shown on shared screen and marked-up in red as present this evening for the September 21, 2021, meeting minutes.
Motion by:	R. Meade-Curry
Seconded by:	
YES	
NO	
Abstain	n/a
Result	NO VOTE TAKEN ON AMENDMENT

Motion:	Motion to accept draft of minutes as presented.
Motion by:	J. Jenkins
Seconded by:	T. Wisecarver
YES	5
NO	2
Abstain	n/a
Result	MOTION PASSES

President Wisecarver prepared and presented revised draft of Regular Meeting Minutes of 19 October 2021. After discussion, the following motion was made:

Motion:	Motion to approve the minutes as written of the Regular Meeting of 19 October 2021.
Motion by:	J. Jenkins
Seconded by:	P. Mayhew
YES	4
NO	3
Abstain	n/a
Result	MOTION PASSES

President Wisecarver prepared and presented draft of Regular Meeting Minutes of 16 November 2021.

Motion:	Motion to adopt the minutes as presented.
Motion by:	J. Jenkins
Seconded by:	P. Mayhew
YES	6
NO	1
Abstain	n/a
Result	MOTION MADE TO AMEND

Motion:	Move to amend the meeting minutes as presented on the screen with the information missed and information as corrected so that the record is reflected correctly in the Town documents.
Motion by:	R. Meade-Curry
Seconded by:	
YES	
NO	
Abstain	n/a
Result	NO SECOND RECEIVED-MOTION FAILED

Motion:	Motion to adopt the minutes as presented.
Motion by:	J. Jenkins
Seconded by:	P. Mayhew
YES	6
NO	1
Abstain	n/a
Result	MOTION PASSES

### **Election of Officers:**

President Wisecarver explained election process and procedure. Mr. Wisecarver opened floor for nominations for President, Vice-President, and Secretary. Election results for the 2022 Planning Commissioner Officers are as follows:

President – Chris Craig Vice-President – Jim Jenkins Secretary – Paul Mayhew

#### **New Business:**

President Wisecarver gave report of his reports given at the Regular Town Council Meetings of 13 December 2021 and 10 January 2022.

#### **Discussion and Other Business:**

President-Elect Chris Craig thanked everyone for his election. He thanked President Wisecarver for his service. He thanked Secretary Meade-Curry for her service.

President-Elect Chris Craig stated for all Commissioners to be become familiar with Town Ordinances, the Storm Water Codes in anticipation of Storm Water Study forthcoming, and the Comprehensive Plan.

President-Elect Chris Craig discussed meetings and operations.

President-Elect Chris Craig requested Secretary Meade-Curry to prepare report for the outstanding backlog of unapproved meeting minutes and send to all Commissioners for review. Any minor comments or corrections to be sent via email to Secretary Meade-Curry. Any substantial comments to be sent via email to President-Elect Craig, Secretary-Elect Mayhew, and Outgoing-Secretary Meade-Curry.

President-Elect Craig opened floor to other Commissioners:

- J. Jenkins thanked Tim Wisecarver for his service as President.
- P. Thomas gave comments.
- P. Mayhew gave comments.
- T. Wisecarver stated he has packet of information to distribute to all Commissioners.

## Adjournment

Motion to adjourn by J. Jenkins. Meeting adjourned at 8:09 PM

The above reflects to the best of our knowledge and summary of recorded Regular Meeting of the Corporation of Harpers Ferry – Planning Commission held January 18, 2022.

President:	
Timothy Wisecarver	date
President-Elect	
Chris Craig	date
Secretary:	02-24-2022
R. N. Meade-Curry, AICP	date
Secretary-Elect:	
Paul Mayhew	date